Professional
Configuring autonomy
-
Last updated: August 20, 2026
-
Read time: 3 Minutes
Burp AT keeps you in control of what it can do independently, from checking with you before every action to running autonomously. You can set permissions at a high level using autonomy modes, or configure permissions for individual tools if you want a more granular approach. These controls enable you to leave Burp AT to work knowing it won't take an action you've restricted.
Enabling and disabling tools
Burp AT never uses a tool you've disabled. Tool settings work on a per-project basis, so you can disable different tools in different projects.
To enable or disable tools:
- Click Settings, then select Tools to open Tool settings.
- On the Enabled tools tab, turn a tool's toggle on or off. To change a whole group at once, use the group dropdown.
Use the Search tools box to find a specific tool. To restore default permissions, select Reset to Burp's default.
Configuring autonomy modes
Each Burp AT task has an autonomy mode that defines when Burp AT needs to ask for permission before using a tool:
Manual - Burp AT uses the permission set for each tool in the Tool settings dialog.
Smart - Burp AT approves routine tool use on its own and stops to ask you about anything that it judges to be potentially risky.
Autonomous - Burp AT runs without asking for approval, apart from a few high-impact tools that always require permission to run.
To change the autonomy mode for a task, select an option from the Mode drop-down in the message box. By default, new tasks use Smart mode.
Note
Smart mode uses AI to judge each action. It may occasionally ask about something harmless, or act on something you'd rather it checked. If you want to approve every action yourself, use Manual mode and set the tools you want to supervise to Ask.
Burp AT never uses tools that you've disabled in any autonomy mode.
Configuring Manual mode
In Manual mode, Burp AT uses the permission you set for each tool. To set these, select Settings > Tools and click the Manual mode tab. You can set each tool to:
Ask - Burp AT always asks for your permission before it uses the tool.
Act - Burp AT uses the tool without asking.
The default setting for each tool varies depending on its potential impact. You can change these to suit your workflow.
Note
A few high-impact tools always require your approval, whatever mode you're in - for example, running a script, adding a target to scope, or creating a custom scan check. You can't set these to Act, and Always approve isn't offered for them, so Burp AT asks every time it uses one of these tools.
To set permissions for a whole group of tools at once, use the group dropdown.
Approving an action
When Burp AT needs your permission to use a tool, it pauses and explains what it wants to do. To see the action it plans to take before you decide, click Show detail. You can select:
Approve - Burp AT uses the tool once.
Always approve - Burp AT uses the tool and sets it to Act in Tool settings. This change applies to all tasks in your current project. This option isn't always available: it appears only in Manual mode when the tool is set to Ask, and never for tools that always require approval.
Reject - Burp AT doesn't use the tool, and finds another way to continue.
Note
To make Burp AT ask for permission to use the tool again after selecting Always approve, set the tool back to Ask.
If an approval request expires before you respond, Burp AT does not use the tool. The request shows a status of Approval expired, and you can continue the conversation.
Burp AT and scope
Burp AT respects the scope you define in Burp, and checks whether a target is in scope before it acts.
Burp AT can edit scope, but it always asks for approval first. To prevent it from asking to edit scope, open Tool settings (Settings > Tools) and, on the Enabled tools tab, disable the Add to scope and Remove from scope tools.
More information
For more information on defining scope, see Target scope.